Beryl Blunders… Just Not as Much as I Thought

After deciding I’d be a bit more fair to Beryl and not be so cruel, I played around until I got it working.

Well I did get it working after a lot of time fooling around.

Some notes:

  • Beryl was slower after a fresh boot than Compiz by about 50 FPS according to the benchmark plugin.
  • Animations seemed very choppy and to only work about 3/4’s of the time.
  • If Fade to Desktop is to truly replace Show Desktop, it needs to work with a hot-corner.
  • The default settings took far too much tweaking to get something as simple as moving a window to work. This needs addressing.

That said, I’m still a dedicated Compiz user, but hey, I was kind enough to give the Beryl kiddies their time of day.

2 Responses to “Beryl Blunders… Just Not as Much as I Thought”


  1. 1 Derek February 4, 2007 at 5:36 am

    I just tried out compiz and beryl. Seems to me that in moving windows, maximizing and restoring, and resizing them, beryl wins. I’m doing no sofisticated bookmarking, but there’s a significant redraw time with compiz that beryl doesn’t have. Furthermore, beryl is so much more configurable.

    You’re right about hot corners. What happened, they were there in 0.1.5. Here’s to hoping the expose features come back.

  2. 2 Will Farrington February 4, 2007 at 6:29 am

    I just tried out compiz and beryl. Seems to me that in moving windows, maximizing and restoring, and resizing them, beryl wins. I’m doing no sofisticated bookmarking, but there’s a significant redraw time with compiz that beryl doesn’t have.

    Most accept that in many cases, speed differences between the two are related to the GPUs being used.

    For me, Compiz has outdone Beryl in performance for months. Not sure why, but that’s just how it is on my end – I’m using the same benchmark plugin to read the FPS.

    Furthermore, beryl is so much more configurable.

    Not true. It’s just that GCM is made to be simplified. In truth, with `gconf-editor`, you can set all the options you please – which is really what you get in BSM (just with a slightly cleaner UI) anyway.

    You’re right about hot corners. What happened, they were there in 0.1.5. Here’s to hoping the expose features come back.

    It wasn’t even a manner of them not being default – I couldn’t find a way to give Fade to Desktop a hotcorner – which is sad. =(


Leave a comment